Generation Unlimited logo

Partnership Governance

Generation Unlimited includes participants from government, multilateral organizations, civil society, the private sector and young people from around the world. 



The most visible drivers of the partnership, leaders will be called on to use their influence to open opportunities, advocate for Generation Unlimited and mobilize resources.

• Sir Fazle Hasan Abed, Founder and Chairman, BRAC

• Mr. Gordon Brown, UN Special Envoy for Education, United Nations

• Ms. Julia Gillard, Chair, Global Partnership for Education

• H.E. Ms. Kolinda Grabar-Kitarović, President, Republic of Croatia

• Mr. António Guterres (Co-Chair), Secretary General, United Nations

• H.E. Mr. Paul Kagame (Co-Chair), President, Republic of Rwanda

• Dr. Jim Kim, President, World Bank Group

• Ms. Graça Machel, Founder, Graça Machel Trust

• Mr. Paul Polman, Chief Executive Officer, Unilever

• H.E. Paula Mae Weekes (Co-Chair), President, Trinidad and Tobago

Additional young leaders are being identified


Global Board:

Members of the Global Board will provide strategic direction, mobilize knowledge, resources and leadership, and oversee the partnership.

• Mr. Tariq Al Gurg, CEO, Dubai Cares

• Ms. Shamma bint Suhail bin Faris Al Mazrui, Minister of Youth, United Arab Emirates

• Ms. Anne-Birgitte Albrectsen, Chief Executive Officer, Plan International

• Ms. Alice Albright, Chief Executive Officer, Global Partnership for Education

• Mr. Ahmad Alhendawi, Secretary-General, World Organization of the Scout Movement

• Ms. Audrey Azoulay, Director-General, United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)

• Ms. Harriett Baldwin, Minister of State, Department for International Development, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

• Mr. Sigve Brekke, Chief Executive Officer, Telenor Group

• Ms. Sarah Brown, Executive Chair, Global Business Coalition for Education

• Ms. Ilwad Elman, Director, Elman Peace Centre

• Mr. Tony Elumelu, Founder, The Tony Elumelu Foundation

• Mr. Moussa Faki Mahamat, Chairperson, African Union Commission

• Mr. John Fallon, Chief Executive Officer, Pearson Education

• Ms. Henrietta Fore, Executive Director, United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF)

• Mr. Michael Froman, Vice Chairman and President of Strategic Growth, Mastercard

• Mr. Napoleón García, Youth Director, Nuestro Tiempo and Censura Cero

• Ms. Kristalina Georgieva, Chief Executive Officer, World Bank

• Mr. José Ángel Gurría, Secretary General, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)

• Mr. Ralph Hamers, Chief Executive Officer, ING Group

• Mr. Per Heggenes, Chief Executive Officer, IKEA Foundation 

• Ms. Sri Mulyani Indrawati, Minister of Finance, Republic of Indonesia

• Mr. Safiqul Islam, Director of Education, BRAC

• Ms. Sigrid Kaag, Minister for Foreign Trade and Development Cooperation, The Netherlands 

• Ms. Natalia Kanem, Executive Director, United Nations Population Fund

• Ms. Lise Kingo, CEO and Executive Director, United Nations Global Compact

• Mr. Michael Kocher, General Manager, Aga Khan Foundation

• Ms. Tsitsi Masiyiwa, Co-Founder & Co-Chair, Higher Life Foundation

• Ms. Rosemary Mbabazi, Minister of Youth, Republic of Rwanda

• Mr. Norbert Meder, Chief Executive Officer, SOS Children’s Villages International

• Ms. Federica Mogherini, High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, European Union

• Mr. Sobel Aziz Ngom, Founder and Executive Director, Social Change Factory

• Mr. Mohamed Nouri Jouini, Vice President, Partnership Development, Islamic Development Bank

• Mr. Hernán Rincón, Chief Executive Officer, Avianca Holdings

• Mr. Guy Ryder, Director-General, International Labour Organization (ILO)

• Ms. Vibhu Sharma, Co-Chair, Global Partnership for Disabilities Youth Council

• Mr. Achim Steiner, Administrator, United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)

• Mr. Justin van Fleet, Director, The Education Commission

• Ms. Jayathma Wickramanayake, Secretary General's Envoy on Youth, United Nations

• Ms. Saadia Zahidi, Head of Education, Gender and Work and Member of the Executive Committee, World Economic Forum

• Mr. Liu Zhenmin, Under-Secretary-General for Economic and Social Affairs, United Nations

• Representative from BMZ - Federal Republic of Germany (to be determined)



In addition to the three governance bodies, Generation Unlimited will be supported by high-profile individuals who will lend their voice and credibility to its efforts. Champions will include celebrities, heads of state, experts and young people.

• Mr. Nikolai Astrup, Minister of International Development, Kingdom of Norway

• Mr. Alexander De Croo, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Development Cooperation, Kingdom of Belgium

• H.E. Mr. Uhuru Muigai Kenyatta, President, Republic of Kenya

• Mr. Takehiko Nakao, President, Asian Development Bank

• Ms. Vera Songwe, Executive Secretary, United Nations Economic Commission for Africa



The ambitious goals set for Generation Unlimited require a lean and flexible Secretariat that can harness and coordinate the expertise of multiple partners from around the world. The Secretariat will be responsible for:

• Strategic planning

• Partnership and Investment support

• Young peoples’ engagement and participation

• Communications, advocacy and engagement

• Administration and operations



Financing the Partnership

Modalities for flexible, responsive resources to support the rapid and robust scale up effort are being set in place. A primary role of the Generation Unlimited Secretariat will be matching of contributors with solutions. In addition, establishment of a Trust Fund is being considered to provide Donors with an opportunity to pool resources to achieve large-scale goals.